The 50th Golden Horse Awards Noms are Out — The Grandmaster Leads with 11 Nods

the-grandmaster-poster

Just last week China’s Golden Rooster Awards recognized the best in film with Back to 1942 as the big winner bagging Best Film and Best Actor. Sadly though, the movie was snubbed in this year’s 50th Golden Horse Awards. No such love was given to Huang Xiao Ming either who previously won for Best Actor, not even a nomination. I haven’t seen the movie so I’m not qualified to comment on this but I bet he felt offended.

The day’s biggest film is undoubtedly the martial arts epic “The Grandmaster” which bagged a total of 11 noms including Best Film, Best Director for Wong Kar Wai, Best Actor and Best Actress for its leads Tony Leung Chiu-wai and Zhang Ziyi respectively. Hongkong Film Awards winner Tony Leung Ka-fai also got a nod for Best Actor for his outstanding performance in Cold War. Jimmy Wang Yu for Soul and Lee Kang Sheng for Stray Dogs are also in the running for Best Actor.

Last years’ Best Actress winner Gwei Lun Mei is again nominated for Christmas Rose along with Sammi Cheng for Blind Detective, Hongkong new comer Cherry Ngan and seven-time nominee Shu Qi for her kick-ass performance in Journey to the West: Conquering the Demons.

But what I am most ecstatic about is that my Taiwanese cutie pie Eddie Peng Yu Yuan is nominated for Best Supporting Actor for his Unbeatable performance! I can’t even begin to express how jubilant I am over this. I feel like crazy grinning from ear-to-ear or more like a girlfriend celebrating her loverboy’s success. All right I’ll stop there!

My Eddie is no stranger to the Golden Horse Awards having been nominated twice in the past. First for Best Newcomer Award in 2007 for the movie My DNA Says I Love You and for Best Actor in 2011′s Jump Ashin. He has yet to win a trophy though. I am fervently praying for him to get this but I know that competition is tough. He has to beat Tong Da Wei for American Dreams in China, Li Xuejian for Back to 1942, Chen Tianwen for Ilo.Ilo and Huang Bo for Journey to the West: Conquering the Demons who are in the same category. I’ll be rooting for him no matter what!

The winners will be revealed on November 23.

 

Look at those pecs!

Look at those pecs!

Categories: TW-News/Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

