Marry Him If You Dare Episode 1-2 Review

You know what’s funny? When you try to reason with yourself to chAnge what you have already decided not to do but in reality you’re itching to do and winning over yourself in the end. Does that make sense? Let me explain. You see, I promised myself not to write a recap of Marry Him If You Dare. Why? Because I just want to savor it as a viewer and not let the critic in me come out. However, I have reached a consensus amongst myselves (I just sounded bonkers there!) to write a mini-recap slash review.

 
Episode 1 Young Mi Rae VS Old Mi Rae
The Good.

It was amazingly fast! Like one minute old Mi Rae pops up then warns young Mi Rae to avoid an accident and then the next thing you know their on a plane to Jeju and then back again to Seoul with young MiRae colliding with future husband Kim Shin.But, I like it! Mi Rae’s character was established although the other 3 of the square not. We only got a glimpse of them which I think is right because the story is supposed to come undone slowly through Mi Rae’s own choices. I also love Yoon Eun Hye‘s energy. She’s like a bundle of sunshine. I actually thought that she was acting younger than her real age because her persona seems a lot younger and damn she looks fresh!

snaps

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Bad.

They could have chosen a better time-travel mode instead of a ridiculously big ticking clock and a vintage elevator but heck I have seen worse! Also it wasn’t clear exactly how it all works. Probably the writers saved it up for later episodes. And my, old Mi Rae’s boots must go to charity and young Mi Rae’s swimsuit straight to the shredder! But nothing beats Kim Shin’s hair. Man, do news anchors in Korea really use that much hair gel? I want to tell the hairstylist to go easy on the hair gel. The animated pop-ups are kinda cute but too cartoonish for my taste. I mean, this is not a high school drama so let’s leave the cutesy-gooey stuff to that other drama over at SBS.

snap3

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Aww Inducing

Which literally translates to the engineered romantic captures which we drama addicts live for.
This one’s all Team Se Joo. Voyeurism much! Mi Rae decided to go au naturel at the beach glowing like a sea mermaid while Se Joo is recording the action. Oh but he didn’t intend to! Our guy’s fallen at first sight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Episode 2 Kim Shin VS Park Se Joo

Or what I’d like to call the hot-headed prick versus the humble pretender.

The Good.

Ahjummas are beating the younger gens to the pulp! Choi Myoung Gil has a commanding on-screen presence as older Mi Rae and Go Du Shim is crazy funny as YBS president and Se Joo’s grandmother, Lee Mi Ran. Lee Dong Gun, you arrogant a***ol! He’s a prick all right. But he’s so good at it that he’s perfect. Oh I hate his foul-mouthed, unbending persona but I know that’s what the role calls for. We are also getting to see the picture more clearly as to what happened in the future prompting old Mi Rae to come back and change it. The reunion between her and Kim Shin was not good as if there’s bad blood between them. A mystery is always a good thing because as a viewer it makes me want to see more to know what the answer is.

snap4

 

 

 

 

 

 

The (not so) Bad.

Don’t hate me for this Jung Yong Hwa worshipers. I just thought that he needs a little more push in the acting part. I just thought his facial expressions were almost the same. He’s supposed to be pretending to be a normal guy yet I can’t distinguish any difference between the two or maybe it’s because the chaebol persona has not been given enough time to come out thus dissecting his performance is futile. I mean let’s face it, LDG is a veteran compared to him. Han Chae Ah was also short leased here. I didn’t feel her presence in episode 1 nor in this. Perhaps it’s because there wasn’t much for her to work on to begin with.

ep2

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Aww Inducing.

Round 2 for Se Joo again. He got to see the girl on the beach again right under his desk! and now they even get to work with each other. He covers for her when her oppa comes looking and then helps her with the preview editing. After a while the two of them listens to the musical score together sharing one headset sitting on the floor.He even charmed old Mi Rae who obviously thought she was seeing angels.

eun5

 

 

 

 

 

 

I actually enjoyed the second episode more than the first so I don’t understand the drop in ratings.Let’s hope next week to see more reveals and better ratings. And can I just say how young looking Yoon Eun Hye is! She looks about the same age as Jung Yong Hwa is some frames.

Categories: K-Drama Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

