Pretty Man Officially Started Filming, Jang Geun Suk, IU Attend Blessing

 

Last October 24, the whole cast of upcoming KBS2 drama Pretty Man/Beautiful Man/Yeppeun Namja/ 예쁜남자 sat down for their first script reading. Four days later initial filming began and eventually to kick-start the drama and ask for bounty and great ratings (of course!) the cast gathered for the ceremonial offering.

There was a time when I was absolutely crazy about this guy to the point that he was my wallpaper. I’ve seen all his previous films and drama alike. But for some reason, my feelings subsided and eventually fizzled. So when I heard news about his drama comeback (of sort) I wasn’t exactly jumping up and down. However, the drama addict in me does not want to be left out.

News of Jang Geun Suk headlining the drama Pretty Man floated as early as June, even before Secret 비밀 started. He was the first actor on board. It is safe to say that everyone involved in this project wanted only him as Dokgo Ma Te, the most beautiful man in the world,ambitious, capricious and a man who seduces and uses women for his own gain. They probably think that there isn’t anyone else in the industry as beautiful as him. Or there might be but they’re doing military duties. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against JGS. On the contrary, I think he fits the bill perfectly. Playing the mentor David Choi is Lee Jang Woo, who is relegated to second-lead status. I’m glad that he’s not so picky with his roles unlike some. IU who’s playing the female lead Kim Bo Tong, an ordinary girl obsessed with Dokgo Ma Te is also a welcome addition. The girl epitomizes the saying “strike while the iron is hot” having just finished her very successful drama You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin and releasing her 3rd studio album Modern Times which is currently topping charts in Korea. A few days ago, Han Chae Young also signed on to play the part of DMT’s first love. It makes me sad however, to see her playing second lead roles now when she can very well play the lead.

To be honest, I wasn’t familiar with the comics and of how popular it was. But I’m willing to bet that the drama will be popular. Just looking at the two lead stars together looking oddly unmatched that it’s cute makes me smile. But I gotta say that pig is taking the attention from them. Pretty Man is replacing Secret, which is currently on top of the Wednesday-Thursday block giving it an edge over currently airing The Heirs and Medical Top Team. The first episode airs November 20.

Categories: Upcoming K-Dramas | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

